Posted on

Daines Bill To Honor American Troops Killed In Afghanistan

U.S. Senator Steve Daines announced Sept. 3 he will introduce a bill to award the 13 Congressional Gold Medals to American service members who lost their lives in the terrorist attacks in Kabul on Aug. 26.

“The 13 brave service members we lost in Afghanistan following the withdrawal will forever be remembered as heroes. Their service and ultimate sacrifice to protect American lives, our freedoms and our homeland deserves the highest honor. Each and every one of these Americans selflessly answered the call to serve our nation and for that, we are eternally thankful,” Daines said.

Daines is pushing for Sgt. Johanny Roasrio Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole L. Gee, Staff Sgt. Darin T. Hoover, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan W. Page, Cpl. Humberto A. Sanchez, Lance Cpl. David L. Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared M. Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee J. McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan R. Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem M. Nikoui, Navy Corpsman Maxton W. Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan C. Knauss to receive the Congressional Gold Medal.

Congresswoman Lisa Mc-Clain (R-MI) introduced a companion bill in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *