Drivers Reminded Move Over Law Goes Into Effect
Motorists are reminded that the new Montana’s Move Over Law went into effect Oct. 1.
Changes to the law include specific speed rules and verbiage pertaining to slowing down upon approach and passing of an authorized vehicle along with the addition of utility workers under the protection of the Move Over Law.
Officials note that these changes create a clearer definition of a driver’s responsibility as well as include personnel from the utility profession who routinely work along Montana’s roadways and need the same safety and room to work as other roadside professions.
When a driver fails to follow the law, they commit reckless endangerment of personnel. Maximum penalties are one year in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Vehicles to move over for include fire, EMS, police, towing and highway/utility.
Drivers are reminded to slow down and then change lanes safely. If a temporary speed limit is not posted, drivers are required to slow by 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit on the interstate and move to the farther lane or half the posted speed limit if not able to move lanes. On state highways or country roads without temporary posted speed limits, drivers must slow by 30 mph below the posted speed limit and change lanes or slow by half the posted speed limit when they are not able to move lanes. When driving on other lanes, drivers must drive half the posted speed limit when passing one of these special vehicle types on the side of the road.