Posted on

Copenhaver Receives Officiating Honor


Local referee Brock Copenhaver has been selected the girls’ basketball official of the year for 2022-2023 by the Montana High School Association and Montana Officials Association.

He is now the nominee for the sport for the National Federation of State High School Association’s Officials of the Year.

Copenhaver is entering his 13th year as a basketball official. Highlights have included being selected for four Class C state tournaments.

He said that Mike Erickson started him as a referee in 2010. Other mentors have included Jeff Kent, Clayton Zerbe, Brent Nygard and Scott McGowan.

Nominees for this award must exemplify the highest standards of ethical conduct, moral character and carry the endorsement of their respective state high school association.

Copenhaver says he plans to continue being an official as long as he stays healthy.

Mike Dryden of Glendive was the selection for football.

Other selections included Craig Cyr for boys’ basketball, Seth Kitchin for baseball, Rock Rayl for softball, Tyler Bowen for volleyball, Fred Trafelet for wrestling, Davis Almanza for boys’ soccer and Andy Gentry for girls’ soccer.

The NFHS Officials’ Association annually recognizes officials in each state for the commitment they make to young people who participate in activities throughout the country. MHSA/MOA is proud to have these officials included in that group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *