Posted on

Loucks To Serve As School Board’s New Chair

Loucks To Serve As School Board’s New Chair Loucks To Serve As School Board’s New Chair

New Wolf Point School Board members Michael J. Turcotte and Trenton Wemmer were sworn into office during the organizational meeting on Monday, May 8.

Also sworn in to serve terms were trustees Keith Higgins and Roxanne Gourneau.

In district 5, Trenton Wemmer received 44 votes to defeat long-time trustee Lanette Clark with 35 votes.

In a write-in election to decide an one-year position for district 3. Turcotte had 13 votes compared to former board chair Lawrence Hamilton Jr.’s 11 votes.

Higgins earned a three-year term in District 1 with 77 votes. Ronald Jackson had seven votes.

In District 2, current trustee Gourneau edged former trustee Linda Hansen by a 41-35 vote margin to earn a two-year term.

Clark received a hug from superintendent Eileen Karge in recognition of her dedication on the board.

Clark said that eight years of service was a good amount. “I gave my best,” she added.

Community members at the meeting applauded Clark when she left the room at the end of the regular meeting on May 8.

During the organizational meeting, Gourneau and trustee Bif Loucks each were nominated for the chair position. A vote ended in a 3-3 tie. Trustees then agreed to determine the chair by picking a name out of a hat. Loucks’ name was drawn to become the new chair.

Gourneau unanimously was voted to serve as vice chair. She noted that she and Loucks along with other trustees need to work together like a team.

Cheri’ Nygard was appointed as district clerk and Naomi Erickson was appointed as board secretary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *