Posted on

Candidates File For School Board

It appears that the Wolf Point School Board will have two new trustees after the election in May.

The official filing deadline was Thursday, March 28.

Thursday, April 4, 5 p.m., is the deadline for write-in candidates to file, meaning the candidate’s name would have to be written in on a ballot. Also, a candidate can withdraw by Thursday, April 4.

Current trustee Michael Turcotte has filed for a three-year position for district 3. He is the only candidate that has filed in the district.

Turcotte won election to the District 3 position in 2023. The election was for the final year of the term that Lawrence Hamilton was elected to in 2021.

The lone candidate in three-year term in district 4 is Cody Larson, who is the athletic director and a teacher in Frazer. Larson is a former teacher and athletic director in the Wolf Point School District.

Elizabeth DeCoteau Lingle is the current trustee in district 4, but she didn’t file for re-election.

Sarah Copenhaver is the lone candidate for the at-large trustee position for a one-year term.

Mark Zilkoski was appointed to the school board in November to take over for Bif Loucks who resigned from the at-large position in September.

The mail-in election will end on May 7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *