Posted on

Three Candidates To Date For Tribal Chairman

As of Sept. 1, there are now three candidates for chairman of the Fort Peck Tribes.

Candidates for chairman include current chairman Floyd Azure, past chairman John Morales and Justin Gray Hawk Sr.

Those who have filed for the Tribal Executive Board include Don LaRoque, Ennis Russell Sr., Melvin “Terry” Rattling Thunder Sr., Dana “Sam” Buckles,” Stacy Summers, Leonard “Bighorn” Crow Belt, Carolyn Bighorn-Brugh, Jestin Dupree, Bryce Kirk, Lawrence Hamilton, Francine Boxer, Michale “Mike” Doney and Patricia “Patt” Iron Cloud.

Charles “Charlie” Headdress has filed for vice chairman. Michael Headdress has filed to be an associate judge. Bruce “Cubby” Damon has filed for sergeant-at-arms.

The last day to register as a candidate in the 2023 election is Sept. 13. The last day for new voter registration is Oct. 13, and the final day to return or accept absentee ballots is Oct. 23. Election day is Saturday, Oct. 28.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *