Posted on

Residents Can File As Write-in Candidates

Residents are reminded that they can still file to be write-in candidates for municipal elections in Roosevelt County.

Deadline to file as a write-in candidate is Tuesday, Sept. 5. In order to make sure votes are counted accurately, write-in candidates are required to provide every possible name they are referred to when applying for candidacy. The names of write-in candidates don’t appear on the actual ballot.

Todd Gabriel is the only candidate who has filed for mayor in Culbertson. He is currently serving as Culbertson’s interim mayor after the departure of Larry Crowder. Incumbent Abe Rumsey has filed for Culbertson’s council in Ward 1. No candidates have filed in Ward 2. Terms for council members Dave Solem and Mark Nelson expire at the end of 2025.

In Bainville, incumbents Carol Rasmussen and William Rathbun have filed to serve on the council.

No one filed for positions in either Poplar or Froid.

The general election is scheduled for Nov. 7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *