Posted on

Wemmer, Turcotte, Gourneau, Higgins Elected To School Board

Two new school board members were voted into office during Wolf Point’s election on Tuesday, May 2.

These results are unofficial and have yet to be canvassed.

In district 5, Trenton Wemmer received 44 votes to defeat long-time trustee Lanette Clark with 35 votes.

Prior to the election, Wemmer said, “I feel I’m a good candidate because kids are important to me! I think with being on the school board the most important things are kids and their academics! I care about the kids, I want the kids to succeed academically! I know what it is to work as a team! I believe that’s what we need to do to make the WPSD a great place to work and provide staff with what they need for the kids to learn.”

In a write-in election to decide an one-year position for district 3. Michael Turcotte had 13 votes compared to current board chair Lawrence Hamilton Jr.’s 11 votes.

Turcotte said of why he ran for the position, “Community is the primary component of the district’s mission statement. Having grown up in Wolf Point and graduating from Wolf Point High School, I believe it is important to be involved in the community.”

Trustee Keith Higgins earned a three-year term in District 1 with 77 votes. Ronald Jackson had seven votes.

Higgins said prior to the election, “I feel like my first term was a good learning experience. I would like to serve another term to learn more and use my experience to better the district in any way I can.”

In District 2, current trustee Roxanne Gourneau edged former trustee Linda Hansen by a 41-35 vote margin to earn a two-year term.

Gourneau noted, “Our education needs everyone’s full attention, we cannot aspire to become that great community without first educating young minds to become great leaders. As it stands, our public school system needs improvement to attract new teachers and offer a promising future to students and families. I feel strongly that I can most certainly help in getting us on that path of a much-needed change that promotes confidence in the families and students that I will be fair and transparent in every action taken as a school board trustee.”

Elected to the Poplar School board were Robyn Baker with 189 votes and Marvin Youpee Jr. with 160 votes. Tomecina Escarcega received 108 votes and Thomas Brown had 80 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *