Posted on

Filing Starts In April For Area’s Municipal Elections

County residents interested in serving the cities they live in should consider now running for a city or town council position.

Filing starts April 20 and closes on June 19 for municipal elections in Roosevelt County. If a primary election is needed, it will take place on Sept. 12. The date for the general election is Nov. 7. Candidates can file at the county clerk and recorder’s office.

Culbertson will need to elect a new mayor during 2023. Mayor Larry Crowder will serve until the end of June when he will move out of the area. Crowder said the council will appoint a mayor at that time to serve for the remainder of the year. The November election will determine the mayor for the start of 2024.

Culbertson’s council members Todd Gabriel and Abe Rumsey’s terms are up for election in 2023. The terms for council members Dave Solem and Mark Nelson expire at the end of 2025.

In Froid, the terms of Gregg Labatte and Gale Strandlund are up for election in 2023.

Council members Carol Rasmussen and Will Rathbun have their terms expire at the end of 2023 in Bainville.

Wolf Point council members who will have their current terms expire at the end of 2023 are Laurie Evans, Jeff Wozniak, Emily Bouta, Craig Rodenberg and Carrie Manning.

Mayor Chris Dschaak’s term doesn’t end until the end of 2025. Council members who have terms ending in 2025 are John Plestina, Dean Mahlum and Lance FourStar.

In Poplar, council members Curry Kirn and Ward Dehner were each appointed to positions to continue serving in 2022. The terms of Scotty Azure and Greg Gourneau expire at the end of 2025.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *