Posted on

Knudsen Selected Speaker Pro Tempore

Rep. Rhonda Knudsen, R-Culbertson, was voted speaker pro tempore by Republicans in the Montana House of Representatives last week.

Knudsen recently won reelection in House District 34. Duties of the speaker pro tempore include filling the role of presiding officer of the House in the absence of the Speaker of the House.

Republicans selected Rep. Matt Regier, R-Kalispell, as the Speaker of the House.

Sen. Jason Ellsworth, R-Hamilton, was elected to be the next president of the State Senate. Other leaders of the Senate will include Sen Ken Bogner, R-Miles City, as the president pro tempore and Sen. Steve Fitzpatrick, R-Great Falls, as majority leader.

Majority Whips include Sens. Steve Hinebauch, Tom McGillvray, Dennis Lenz and Barry Usher.

Democrats elected Sen. Pat Flowers, D-Bozeman, as Minority Leader and Rep. Kim Abbott, D-Helena, as Minority Leader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *