Posted on

Election Day Nears In Roosevelt County

Voters in Roosevelt County will have plenty to consider when they hit the polls for Election Day on Tuesday, Nov. 8.

Among the contested races are for Roosevelt County sheriff where incumbent Jason Frederick is seeking re-election against Brent Nygard.

For District 3, which includes the Wolf Point area, voters have a choice between Ken E. Hentges or Robert D. Toavs to replace outgoing commissioner Duane Nygaard.

County positions that are being run unopposed include Cheryl A. Hansen for clerk and recorder/public administrator, Frank Piocos for county attorney and Betty Romo for treasurer/assessor.

U.S. Rep. Matt Rosendale, R-Mont., is being challenged by Democrat Penny Ronning, independent Gary Buchanan and libertarian Sam Rankin. Montana will now have two representatives in the U.S. House, and Roosevelt County is part of the second Congressional district in the state.

Voters in Montana House District 31 will have a choice between incumbent Democrat Frank J. Smith or Republican challenger Arlie W. Gordon.

Republican incumbent Rhonda Knudsen is running unopposed in Montana House District 34.

Roosevelt County residents will also decide whether to retain Traci Harada and Penny E. Henrickson as Justice Court judges.

Statewide elections include Jim Rice against Bill D’alton for Supreme Court Justice #1, and Ingrid Gustafson against James Brown for Supreme Court Justice #2.

The Montana ballot contains both a constitutional amendment and a legislative referendum issues. Constitutional Amendment 48 would amend the Montana Constitution to specifically protect electronic data and communication from unreasonable search and seizures. Legislative Referendum 131 would adopt the born-alive infant protection act that will require health care providers to take necessary actions to preserve the life of a born-alive infant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *