Posted on

Hamilton Selected As School Board Chair

Lawrence Hamilton Jr. was selected the new chair of the Wolf Point School Board during a special meeting on Monday, Aug. 22.

Hamilton replaces Elizabeth DeCoteau Lingle, who is staying on the board but doesn’t wish to be in the role of chair any longer.

Bif Loucks was selected as the board’s vice chair. Hamilton was previously the vice chair.

No one else was nominated for the positions. Trustee Roxanne Gourneau, who was nominated for chair at a previous meeting, withdrew her name from consideration.

During the public comment portion of the meeting, Loucks mentioned that the school district should be active in trying to find additional housing for teachers. He noted that both Frontier and Poplar have homes available for staff members.

Gourneau agreed that housing should be a focus. She added homes could be added 5 miles outside of town to help solve the challenge.

“We need to start doing this now,” Gourneau said. “I want the very best teachers and administration.”

Resignations included Greg Gourneau as junior high principal, Riggins Smith as assistant cook, Janet Mowoh as paraprofessional and Xanthia Jackson as paraprofessional.

When the topic of hiring individuals came up, Gourneau said that the positions should be open to the public and not just be advertised in house.

“I really oppose that,” she said. Gourneau added, “A large pool of individuals aren’t asked to join the club.”

Hired were Grant Legare as Title IX coordinator, Joelle Page as 504 coordinator, Patricia Toavs as special education director, Ann Landsrud for temporary secretary training, Scott Montgomery and Dejondra Gardipee as activity bus drivers, Erin Loendorf and Melissa Cromwell as Pep Club co-advisors and Karli McGowan as high school student council advisor.

The hirings were approved by a 4-1 margin with Gourneau voting against.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *