Posted on

School Board Makes Extracurricular Hires

The Wolf Point School board held its regular meeting Monday, May 11. The meeting was broadcast live on Facebook.

Resignations were accepted from Southside teachers Ashley Fleming, Kerrie Letsche, Alyssa Smith and Hannah Struttman, as well as high school English teacher Robin Hayes Hernandez.

Sarah Larkin and Emma Tolzein were hired as teachers for Southside. Ronnell Tumonong was hired as a Northside science teacher. Wyatt Murdoch was hired to teach junior high social studies. Demi Henderson was hired as traffic education teacher. Jaime Reum was hired as FPCC Chante Project coordinator and Nicole Boos was hired as district school-based therapist.

Summer school hires for Southside include Patricia Beston, Laura Dennis, Vicky Boysun, Cody Larson, Joelle Page, Ellen Sievers, Jane Sorley, Rona Stevens and Dorian Talks Different.

Summer school hires for Northside include Brandi Burshia, Richard Ryan, Andrew Tumonong and Kristie Chamberlain.

Kim Hanks and Leslie Larson were hired for junior high and high school summer programs.

Extracurricular hires for the 2020-2021 school year include Cody Larson, activities director; Cheri’ Nygard, transportation director; Dawn Garfield, adult ed coordinator; Patricia Toavs, concessions; Carrie Manning, Wolf People Club; Sharon Kolstad, music accompanist; Martin “Jeff” Toavs, FFA; Leslie Larson, National Honors Society; Russell Johnson, band/choir/pep band/madrigal; Melissa Cromwell, student council; Wendy Connelley, speech and debate; Tiffany Darby, drama; Nellie Garfield, high school cheer; Rodney Paulson, high school golf; Nicole Boos and Nicole Paulson, head and assistant high school tennis; RC Page and Jason Brock, head and assistant high school track and field; Scott Vandall and Tyler Sterling, head and assistant high school wrestling; Troy Blount and Cole Hanks, head and assistant high school boys’ basketball; Jon Kolstad, Demi Henderson and Jeromy Azure Sr.; head and assistants high school girls’ basketball; Cole Baker, assistant high school cross country coach; Ryan Wilson, Anthony Red Cloud, Jason Brock and Keyvin Brock, head and assistants high school football; Nicole Boos and Dan Horsmon, assistants high school volleyball.

Cheri’ Nygard was renewed as district business manager and Greg Moniz was renewed as district technology administrator.

Greg and Georgie Gourneau were renewed as Southside and Northside principals respectively. John Wetsit was renewed as junior high principal and Kim Hanks will be back as high school principal.

Andrea Baker, Kristie Chamberlain, Laura Dennis, John Gardner, Rhena Tumonong, Suzette Pinili, Lori Sande and Laura Wall were renewed as certified staff for the coming year.

Roberta Azure, Angela Bates, Crystal Benton, Patricia Beston, George Blount, Brenda Boysun, Shawn Boysun, Jae Dee Braaten, Ja- son Brock, Lance Chase, Ken Clampitt, Dustin Darby, Arden DeWitt, Diane DeWitt, Michelle Eanes, Scott Edmundson, Naomi Erickson, Emar Eymard, Trent Hamilton, Darlene Hanks, LaRae Hanks, Anthony Harrison, Kory Hines, Nancy Hopson, Rick Keller, Heidi Kent, Ann Landsrud, James Macdonald, Shelby Jo Martell, Sonia Martell-Hawk, Melissa Medicine Stone, Kristina Moniz, Antonio Nation, Beth Olsen, Jo Ann Olson, John Plestina, Terra Pronto, Claine Raining Bird, Virgil Rauch, Shane Reed, Allen Richard, Vivian Schultz, Ellen Sievers, Corrinne Smith, Leanne Smith, Maverick Smith, Reagan Smith, Travis St Germaine, Jane Sorley, Carrie Talks Different, Arthur Tapaha, Cheryl Taylor, Sue Toavs, Arielleanne Umphreys, JubileeJade Umphreys, Shirley Vandall, Carol Wallette, Taunya Wasser and Jeff Whitmus were renewed as district classified staff.

Board reports were presented by the Indian Education Committee, Southside principal Gourneau, Northside principal Gourneau, junior high principal Wetsit, high school principal Hanks, activities director Larson, facilities director Shane Reed and superintendent Loverty Erickson.

Girls wrestling was approved for addition to the winter sports program.

A cooperative agreement between Frazer and Lustre schools was approved for football.

Property and liability insurance was renewed for 2020-2021 and an application was approved for the Montana High School Association.

The district audit contract was also approved.

The board approved minutes for the April 13 and 27 board meetings, as well as warrant registers and claims against the districts.

A purchase order was approved for a district website and mobile app communication tool in the amount of $17,490.

The next regular board meeting is scheduled for Aug. 10. July meeting dates have yet to be announced.

Paid for by Rhonda Knudsen for Legislature, Republican, PO Box 734, Culbertson, MT 59218

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *