Posted on

Commissioners Approve Unified Command, Chromebooks

The Roosevelt County Commissioners held their regular public meeting Tuesday, April 7. Attendance was allowed by phone.

Minutes were approved for special administrative meetings on April 1 and 3.

The establishment of a unified incident command structure was approved. Member organizations include the Fort Peck Tribes, Indian Health Services and Roosevelt County Health Department.

Commissioner Gordon Oelkers said that the unified command will help streamline messaging and processes for getting information out to the public.

In anticipation of a coming extension of Governor Steve Bullock’s shelter-in-place order, the commissioners approved locking the doors at the Roosevelt County Courthouse until April 24. Residents seeking county services should call 653-6200 to gain entry to the courthouse. Just one person is allowed inside at a time.

The commissioners approved the treasurer’s securities report unanimously.

Annual pay raises were approved for health department employee Darla Zimmerman; detention center employees Tristan Randall, Digmie Tinglin, Morty Manning, Aura Delisle, John Benavente, Lakota Flying Horse; and road department employee Eldon Porras.

At the April 1 special administrative meeting, minutes were approved for the March 17 regular meeting, tax deed sale and bid opening for growth policy, as well as a March 18 special administrative meeting.

Also at the April 1 special meeting, the commissioners approved a request from the Roosevelt County Sheriff’s Office for five specially outfitted Chromebooks. The total cost was $30,327.

A burn permit plan was approved at that meeting, as were claims in the amount of $56,357.62. The commissioners also approved a request from the IT department for the purchase of phone system upgrades in the amount of $3,300.

A recommendation was accepted for a county-wide mail in ballot for upcoming primary elections. The recommendation was approved at the April 7 meeting.

Additional contact numbers for county departments include the following: clerk of court, 653-6266; clerk and recorder, 653-6250; treasurer, 653-6239; commissioners, 653-6246; county attorney, 653-6295.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *